Comparing the Top 11 Field Force Tracking Apps
Attendance and field force tracking apps range from general time clocks that added GPS, to Indian attendance and payroll apps, to apps built for field staff. No app wins on every dimension. This guide compares the 11 most-used apps in the category on the features and prices that matter to a team on the road, and puts TrackFolks beside them. For what users complain about and which alternative suits each app, see Alternatives to the Top 11 Attendance and Field Force Tracking Apps.
How we picked the top 11
We looked at apps whose job is attendance and location tracking for people who work away from a desk, and ranked them by the number of ratings on Google Play and the App Store combined, because a count of ratings shows real usage better than a star score. Shift schedulers such as When I Work, Homebase and Deputy are left out because they record location only at clock-in, as are broader HR suites and sales force automation tools for consumer-goods distribution. TrackFolks is shown beside the 11 for comparison; its own ratings are too new to rank.
The factors that matter
These follow the columns of the table below, in the same order.
1Selfie / face check at punch-in
A selfie or face check shows who punched in, which reduces buddy punching. Check whether it is included in the plan you pay for.
2Live location
Live location answers "where is this person right now?" It is often an add-on or a top-tier feature, and usually works only while the person is punched in.
3Route history and distance
A recorded route answers "where did they go today, and how far?" It matters for mileage claims, proof of visits and beat compliance, and it needs continuous tracking.
4Geofencing
Geofencing restricts punches to a site, or punches people in and out automatically when they enter or leave one. It is usually a mid-tier feature.
5Customer visit logging
Field sales and service teams need to log each customer visit with a location, notes and photos. General time clocks often lack this.
6Expense claims
Expense claims, receipts and mileage reimbursement save the back-and-forth of paper bills.
7Leave / roster
HR-led businesses want leave balances and rosters in the same tool. Field-first apps often leave these out.
8Payroll
Built-in payroll is a big feature; many teams only need clean attendance data exported for their payroll tool.
9Works offline
With poor coverage, an app that cannot queue data loses it. Check what happens without a signal: some apps queue punches, others only queue locations.
10Biometric / QR attendance
Biometric devices, QR codes and kiosks suit fixed sites. Field teams mostly punch in on their own phones.
11Free plan
"Free" often means a trial, or a free plan without GPS. Look at the user limit and what is switched off.
12Price per user, year 1 and after renewal
Compare the price of the plan that includes the features you need, and what you pay in the first year against what you pay after renewal. Some vendors discount the first year or add fees later. Prices here are per user per month for a 30-user team, and ₹95 = $1.
13App store ratings
Store ratings are the most credible public signal of how well an app works. Look at the star rating and at the number of ratings: a high score from a handful of reviews means little.
Top 11 field force tracking apps compared
Green = included. Amber = partial, an add-on, a higher plan or reported by users. Red = not available. Grey = not stated in the vendor's public material, which is not the same as missing. Prices per user per month are green up to $2, amber up to $3 and red above $3. Providers are listed alphabetically.
Score: every colour-coded cell in a provider's row (the 11 features, the year 1 and renewal prices and the two store ratings, 15 in all) scores green 5, amber 3, red or grey 1, so the maximum is 75. Grey counts as 1 because a feature we could not confirm cannot earn credit, which also means TrackFolks scores 1 for each of its two store ratings because it has none yet. The score weighs every column equally and says nothing about which features matter to you, so use it as a rough guide next to the table.
| Provider and score | Selfie / face check at punch-in | Live location | Route history and distance | Geofencing | Customer visit logging | Expense claims | Leave / roster | Payroll | Works offline | Biometric / QR attendance | Free plan | Price per user per month, year 1 | Price per user per month, after renewal | Android rating (Google Play) | iPhone rating (App Store) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ClockifyScore 39 / 75 | Not stated | Last locations, Pro plan | Route points, Pro plan | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Time off | Not stated | Offline mode | Not stated | 5 users, no GPS | $7.99 | $7.99 | 4.5 ★ (3,001) | 4.6 ★ (4,545) |
| ConnecteamScore 49 / 75 | Not stated | Breadcrumbs | Breadcrumb trail | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Scheduling, time off | Integrations | No (reported) | Not stated | Up to 10 users | $0.97 | $0.97 | 4.8 ★ (30,285) | 4.9 ★ (61,257) |
| FieldSenseScore 49 / 75 | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Visit management | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Offline mode | Biometric integration | Paid | $0.88* | $2.63* | 3.9 ★ (10,880) | 2.5 ★ (130) |
| HubstaffScore 29 / 75 | Not stated | Locations add-on | Route history, Locations add-on | Job sites, Locations add-on | Job site attendance with notes and photos | Not stated | Not stated | Integrated payroll (reported) | Not stated | Not stated | 14-day trial | $10.00✱ | $10.00✱ | 3.0 ★ (950) | 4.5 ★ (1,537) |
| JibbleScore 55 / 75 | Face recognition | Ultimate plan | Timesheet locations | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Payroll-ready timesheets | Yes | NFC, RFID, QR, PIN | Unlimited users | $7.99✱ | $7.99✱ | 4.6 ★ (5,224) | 4.8 ★ (1,601) |
| PagarBookScore 47 / 75 | Selfie attendance | Geo product | Geo route timeline | Not stated | OTP-confirmed visits | Not stated | Leave, salary | Built in | Not stated | Biometric machine | Free basic app | Not published | Not published | 4.4 ★ (91,913) | 3.1 ★ (455) |
| QuickBooks TimeScore 43 / 75 | Not stated | Who's working map | GPS mileage, Elite plan | Elite plan | Not stated | Not stated | Time off, scheduling | Payroll product, syncs | Yes | Not stated | 30-day trial | $10.67 | $10.67 | 4.7 ★ (68,786) | 4.7 ★ (197,750) |
| SalaryBoxScore 57 / 75 | AI selfie | Add-on, Rs 100 | Reported | Yes | Meetings | Yes | Yes | Built in | Not stated | Machine, QR kiosk | 7-day trial | $1.84 | $1.84 | 4.3 ★ (11,547) | 3.7 ★ (391) |
| TimeeroScore 39 / 75 | Photo at clock-in | Not stated | Route map, breadcrumbs, playback | Pro plan | Not stated | Mileage | Not stated | Payroll integrations | Yes (reported) | Not stated | Trial | $5.00 | $5.00 | 4.7 ★ (812) | 4.7 ★ (1,656) |
| TrackFolksScore 53 / 75 | Selfie punch-in | Yes | Route replay, daily distance | Coming soon | Check-in form | Receipts | Not available | CSV export for payroll | Location gathered offline; punch-in needs a connection | Not available | Up to 10 users | $0.69 (free for 10 users) | $0.70 | New listing | New listing |
| TrueinScore 45 / 75 | Face recognition | Live tracking add-on | Not stated | GPS geofencing | Activity punch | Not stated | Add-on | Payroll-ready timesheets | Offline clock-in | Face recognition | 14-day trial | $2.41 | $2.41 | 4.4 ★ (2,937) | 3.9 ★ (75) |
| UnoloScore 45 / 75 | Facelock, separate product | Real-time location | Distance travelled | Auto attendance, Basic plan | Sites and clients | Conveyance claims | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Facelock | 14-day trial | Not published | Not published | 4.7 ★ (6,311) | 3.3 ★ (59) |
Price is the approximate USD per user per month for a 30-user team on the cheapest plan with GPS, with any add-on and base fee included. * FieldSense: worked out from what a FieldSense customer told us (Rs 25,000 for 25 users in year 1, Rs 75,000 after renewal). ✱ Jibble and Hubstaff: the vendor's pages did not list a full price table, so the figures are from third-party sources or exclude an add-on whose price we could not find. We could not find a public price for PagarBook or Unolo. TrackFolks is free for up to 10 users, then $1.05 per user per month, billed yearly, capped at $499 a year ($249 in the first year).
Top picks by category
The first app in each list is linked so you can go straight to it. Each list shows the top five. Popularity and likeability use Google Play and App Store ratings, so TrackFolks, which has no ratings yet, is not in those two. Feature richness is the score in the table above, and cost effectiveness is the lowest price per user per month after renewal for a 30-user team, among apps that publish a price. A tie on score is broken by popularity. An app can top one list and trail another.
Most popular (most ratings on both stores combined)
- QuickBooks Time: 266,536 ratings. 68,786 on Google Play, 197,750 on the App Store
- PagarBook: 92,368 ratings. 91,913 on Google Play, 455 on the App Store
- Connecteam: 91,542 ratings. 30,285 on Google Play, 61,257 on the App Store
- SalaryBox: 11,938 ratings. 11,547 on Google Play, 391 on the App Store
- FieldSense: 11,010 ratings. 10,880 on Google Play, 130 on the App Store
Most liked (average of the Google Play and App Store ratings)
- Connecteam: 4.81 stars on average. 4.8 on Google Play, 4.9 on the App Store (61,257 App Store ratings)
- Jibble: 4.74 stars on average. 4.6 on Google Play, 4.8 on the App Store (1,601 App Store ratings)
- Timeero: 4.71 stars on average. 4.7 on Google Play, 4.7 on the App Store (1,656 App Store ratings)
- QuickBooks Time: 4.65 stars on average. 4.7 on Google Play, 4.7 on the App Store (197,750 App Store ratings)
- Clockify: 4.57 stars on average. 4.5 on Google Play, 4.6 on the App Store (4,545 App Store ratings)
Most feature rich (highest score in the table above)
- SalaryBox: score 57 out of 75. AI selfie attendance, Geofence attendance, Live location (add-on), Client meetings and expenses, Payroll and leave
- Jibble: score 55 out of 75. Facial recognition and selfie, GPS and geofencing, Live location (Ultimate), Offline use, Payroll-ready timesheets
- TrackFolks: score 53 out of 75. Selfie punch-in, Live location, Route replay and daily distance, Visit check-in form, Expense receipts and CSV export
- Connecteam: score 49 out of 75. GPS clock-in and clock-out, Breadcrumb trail, Geofencing, Scheduling and time off, Chat and forms
- FieldSense: score 49 out of 75. Location tracking, Visit management, Expense claims, Leave and attendance rules, Offline mode
Most cost effective (lowest price per user after renewal, 30-user team)
- TrackFolks: $0.69 year 1, $0.70 after renewal per user per month. free for up to 10 users, capped at $499 a year
- Connecteam: $0.97 per user per month. $29 a month flat for the first 30 users, then $0.80 per user
- SalaryBox: $1.84 per user per month. Rs 75 per user (Business) + Rs 100 per user for live location = about $1.84
- Truein: $2.41 per user per month. Rs 250 per user per year + a Rs 69,000 a year base fee (Time Capture), plus Rs 200 per user per year for live tracking
- FieldSense: $0.88 year 1, $2.63 after renewal* per user per month. Rs 1,000 per user per year in the first year, Rs 3,000 after renewal (customer-reported)
What would you pay?
Yearly price in USD with GPS location tracking included, from each vendor's public pricing in October 2026 (rupees at ₹95 = $1). The vertical axis is logarithmic, so each step up is a multiple of the one below, which lets every provider fit; $0 is drawn at the bottom. We could not find a public price for PagarBook and Unolo, so they are not on the chart.
View the numbers as a table
| Users | TrackFolks | TrackFolks, first year | Connecteam | SalaryBox | Truein | FieldSense, first year* | FieldSense, after renewal* | QuickBooks Time | Clockify | Jibble✱ | Hubstaff✱ | Timeero |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $221 | $774 | $105 | $316 | $1,440 | $959 | $959 | $1,200 | $600 |
| 20 | $126 | $126 | $348 | $442 | $821 | $211 | $632 | $2,640 | $1,918 | $1,918 | $2,400 | $1,200 |
| 30 | $252 | $249 | $348 | $663 | $868 | $316 | $947 | $3,840 | $2,876 | $2,876 | $3,600 | $1,800 |
| 50 | $499 | $249 | $540 | $1,105 | $963 | $526 | $1,579 | $6,240 | $4,794 | $4,794 | $6,000 | $3,000 |
| 100 | $499 | $249 | $1,020 | $2,211 | $1,200 | $1,053 | $3,158 | $12,240 | $9,588 | $9,588 | $12,000 | $6,000 |
* FieldSense: per-user price worked out from what a FieldSense customer told us: Rs 25,000 for 25 users in the first year, rising to Rs 75,000 after renewal; the price at other team sizes assumes the same per-user rate. ✱ Jibble: the vendor's pages did not list a full price table, so the figure is from third-party sources that disagree. ✱ Hubstaff: the Team plan at $10 per user, without the Locations add-on that GPS tracking needs, whose price we could not find. QuickBooks Time is the Premium plan ($20 a month base fee + $10 per user). Clockify is the Pro plan. SalaryBox is Rs 75 per user plus Rs 100 for live location. Truein is the Time Capture plan (Rs 250 per user per year + a Rs 69,000 a year base fee) plus the Rs 200 per user live tracking add-on. Timeero is the Basic plan.
Alternatives, app by app
Each page covers what users of that app report, which alternatives we think fit, and where TrackFolks compares.
- Alternative to QuickBooks Time
- Alternative to PagarBook
- Alternative to Connecteam
- Alternative to SalaryBox
- Alternative to FieldSense
- Alternative to Clockify
- Alternative to Jibble
- Alternative to Unolo
- Alternative to Truein
- Alternative to Hubstaff
- Alternative to Timeero
This guide is AI-generated and published by TrackFolks, which is one of the apps covered. If you find an error, write to developer@shristigroup.com and we will correct it. If you want your offering included and you list your pricing openly, write to us and we will add it.