Alternatives to the top 11 apps › Alternative to PagarBook
Alternative to PagarBook for Attendance and Field Force Tracking
PagarBook is an Indian staff attendance, salary and payroll app, with a separate Geo product for field staff. It has 91,913 ratings on Google Play (4.4 stars, 10M+ installs) and 455 on the App Store (3.1 stars). If you are looking for an alternative, the most common reasons come down to a callback-only price and renewal pressure reported by reviewers.
The top 3 problems PagarBook users report
From the latest 200 Google Play and App Store reviews (August to October 2026 on Google Play, 2024 to 2026 on the App Store); about 60% were 1 to 3 stars. These are customers' opinions, paraphrased, and apps change, so check the latest reviews yourself.
1. Crashes, errors and data that disappears after updates
Reviewers describe the app not responding, historical data not visible after an update, and records disrupted.
2. Renewals, premium plans and support
Several reviewers complain about renewal follow-up calls, being asked for a premium plan to keep access to their data, and an app that is "free" only at the start.
3. Missing automation
Reviewers mention leave not being deducted automatically, no lock to a single device, and no API.
Alternatives to PagarBook
Chosen from the 11 most-used apps: close to PagarBook in features and store rating, and with clearly fewer reports of its complaints in their reviews. Each has its own problems, which are listed with it.
SalaryBox
Why we think it is a good alternative: closest to PagarBook in features (7 of 7) and store rating (4.0 against 3.7), with far fewer reports of crashes and login errors (4.5% of its reviews, against 22.5% for PagarBook) and support complaints (2.5% of its reviews, against 8.5% for PagarBook).
Fewer reports of PagarBook's complaints: crashes and login errors: 4.5% of its reviews against 22.5% for PagarBook; support complaints: 2.5% of its reviews against 8.5% for PagarBook; price and renewal complaints: 4% of its reviews against 5.5% for PagarBook.
Trade-offs: It is priced at Rs 75 per user (Business) + Rs 100 per user for live location = about $1.84 (about $1.84 per user per month for 30 users). Its own reviewers mostly report renewal price hikes and "not free" and app not opening after updates. See its alternatives.
Truein
Why we think it is a good alternative: closest to PagarBook in features (6 of 7) and store rating (4.1 against 3.7), with far fewer reports of crashes and login errors (3.4% of its reviews, against 22.5% for PagarBook) and support complaints (none of its reviews, against 8.5% for PagarBook).
Fewer reports of PagarBook's complaints: crashes and login errors: 3.4% of its reviews against 22.5% for PagarBook; support complaints: none of its reviews against 8.5% for PagarBook; price and renewal complaints: none of its reviews against 5.5% for PagarBook. Its review sample is small, so treat this with caution.
Trade-offs: It lacks: route history and distance. It is priced at Rs 250 per user per year + a Rs 69,000 a year base fee (Time Capture), plus Rs 200 per user per year for live tracking (about $2.41 per user per month for 30 users). Its own reviewers mostly report tedious attendance corrections and a time picker that fails and oTP not received and login problems. See its alternatives.
Unolo
Why we think it is a good alternative: closest to PagarBook in features (6 of 7) and store rating (4.0 against 3.7), with far fewer reports of crashes and login errors (3.6% of its reviews, against 22.5% for PagarBook) and support complaints (none of its reviews, against 8.5% for PagarBook).
Fewer reports of PagarBook's complaints: crashes and login errors: 3.6% of its reviews against 22.5% for PagarBook; support complaints: none of its reviews against 8.5% for PagarBook. Its review sample is small, so treat this with caution.
Trade-offs: It lacks: payroll. It does not publish a price. Its own reviewers mostly report battery drain and crashes and permission loops. See its alternatives.
How TrackFolks addresses these problems
TrackFolks has no store ratings yet, so these are the creator's claims, not review data.
Crashes and login errors
No crashes reported by the roughly 50 people who have used it so far.
Price and renewal complaints
The price is published upfront and capped at $499 a year ($249 in the first year).
Support complaints
The creator gives personal support, and most teams need it only while onboarding.
Where TrackFolks does better
- Price: PagarBook does not publish a price. TrackFolks publishes its own: free for 10 users, then $1.05 per user per month, billed yearly, never more than $499 a year.
- Against SalaryBox at about $1.84 per user per month, TrackFolks is cheaper at about $0.70 after the first year.
- Against Truein at about $2.41 per user per month, TrackFolks is cheaper at about $0.70 after the first year.
- Mobile first: managers do everything from the phone, including exporting CSV reports, with no web dashboard to learn.
- Features PagarBook does not list that TrackFolks has: expense claims.
PagarBook and TrackFolks side by side
| Feature | PagarBook | TrackFolks |
|---|---|---|
| Selfie / face check at punch-in | Selfie attendance | Selfie punch-in |
| Live location | Geo product | Yes |
| Route history and distance | Geo route timeline | Route replay, daily distance |
| Geofencing | Not stated | Coming soon |
| Customer visit logging | OTP-confirmed visits | Check-in form |
| Expense claims | Not stated | Receipts |
| Leave / roster | Leave, salary | Not available |
| Payroll | Built in | CSV export for payroll |
| Works offline | Not stated | Location gathered offline; punch-in needs a connection |
| Biometric / QR attendance | Biometric machine | Not available |
| Free plan | Free basic app | Up to 10 users |
Green = included, amber = partial or higher plan, red = not available, grey = not stated in public material. See the full comparison of the top 11 apps.
When PagarBook is the better choice
You need salary and payroll calculation, leave management or biometric machines in the same app. TrackFolks exports CSV for payroll but does not calculate it.
Pricing compared
We could not find a public price for PagarBook, so it is not on the chart. TrackFolks is free for 10 users, then $1.05 per user per month, billed yearly, capped at $499 a year ($249 in the first year).
Yearly price in USD with GPS location tracking included, from each vendor's public pricing in October 2026 (rupees at ₹95 = $1). The vertical axis is logarithmic, so each step up is a multiple of the one below, which lets every provider fit; $0 is drawn at the bottom. We could not find a public price for PagarBook and Unolo, so they are not on the chart.
View the numbers as a table
| Users | TrackFolks | TrackFolks, first year | Connecteam | SalaryBox | Truein | FieldSense, first year* | FieldSense, after renewal* | QuickBooks Time | Clockify | Jibble✱ | Hubstaff✱ | Timeero |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $221 | $774 | $105 | $316 | $1,440 | $959 | $959 | $1,200 | $600 |
| 20 | $126 | $126 | $348 | $442 | $821 | $211 | $632 | $2,640 | $1,918 | $1,918 | $2,400 | $1,200 |
| 30 | $252 | $249 | $348 | $663 | $868 | $316 | $947 | $3,840 | $2,876 | $2,876 | $3,600 | $1,800 |
| 50 | $499 | $249 | $540 | $1,105 | $963 | $526 | $1,579 | $6,240 | $4,794 | $4,794 | $6,000 | $3,000 |
| 100 | $499 | $249 | $1,020 | $2,211 | $1,200 | $1,053 | $3,158 | $12,240 | $9,588 | $9,588 | $12,000 | $6,000 |
* FieldSense: per-user price worked out from what a FieldSense customer told us: Rs 25,000 for 25 users in the first year, rising to Rs 75,000 after renewal; the price at other team sizes assumes the same per-user rate. ✱ Jibble: the vendor's pages did not list a full price table, so the figure is from third-party sources that disagree. ✱ Hubstaff: the Team plan at $10 per user, without the Locations add-on that GPS tracking needs, whose price we could not find. QuickBooks Time is the Premium plan ($20 a month base fee + $10 per user). Clockify is the Pro plan. SalaryBox is Rs 75 per user plus Rs 100 for live location. Truein is the Time Capture plan (Rs 250 per user per year + a Rs 69,000 a year base fee) plus the Rs 200 per user live tracking add-on. Timeero is the Basic plan.
Download TrackFolks
Want to see how all the most-used apps compare? Read Comparing the Top 11 Field Force Tracking Apps and Alternatives to the Top 11 Attendance and Field Force Tracking Apps.
This guide is AI-generated and published by TrackFolks, which is one of the apps covered. If you find an error, write to developer@shristigroup.com and we will correct it. If you want your offering included and you list your pricing openly, write to us and we will add it.