Alternatives to the top 11 apps › Alternative to Hubstaff
Alternative to Hubstaff for Attendance and Field Force Tracking
Hubstaff is a US time tracking app with GPS, geofenced job sites and timesheets for distributed and field teams. It has 950 ratings on Google Play (3.0 stars, 100K+ installs) and 1,537 on the App Store (4.5 stars). If you are looking for an alternative, the most common reasons come down to GPS features that need a paid add-on, and billing surprises that reviewers describe.
The top 3 problems Hubstaff users report
From the latest 197 Google Play and App Store reviews (December 2021 to October 2026 on Google Play and the App Store); about 44% were 1 to 3 stars. These are customers' opinions, paraphrased, and apps change, so check the latest reviews yourself.
1. Bugs, forced logouts and updates that break features
Reviewers describe being logged out every time the app closes, timers that rewind after an update, and screens that stop working.
2. Billing surprises and add-ons
Reviewers say add-ons appeared on their bill without being requested, that refunds were refused, and that paid add-ons did not do what they expected.
3. Confusing for small teams, and slow support
Reviewers find it hard to navigate and configure for a small business, and some say support did not help when the app stopped working.
Alternatives to Hubstaff
Chosen from the 11 most-used apps: close to Hubstaff in features and store rating, and with clearly fewer reports of its complaints in their reviews. Each has its own problems, which are listed with it.
Truein
Why we think it is a good alternative: closest to Hubstaff in features (4 of 5) and store rating (4.1 against 3.8), with far fewer reports of crashes and login errors (3.4% of its reviews, against 16.2% for Hubstaff) and price and renewal complaints (none of its reviews, against 3% for Hubstaff).
Fewer reports of Hubstaff's complaints: crashes and login errors: 3.4% of its reviews against 16.2% for Hubstaff; price and renewal complaints: none of its reviews against 3% for Hubstaff; support complaints: none of its reviews against 2.5% for Hubstaff. Its review sample is small, so treat this with caution.
Trade-offs: It lacks: route history and distance. It is priced at Rs 250 per user per year + a Rs 69,000 a year base fee (Time Capture), plus Rs 200 per user per year for live tracking (about $2.41 per user per month for 30 users). Its own reviewers mostly report tedious attendance corrections and a time picker that fails and oTP not received and login problems. See its alternatives.
SalaryBox
Why we think it is a good alternative: closest to Hubstaff in features (5 of 5) and store rating (4.0 against 3.8), with far fewer reports of crashes and login errors (4.5% of its reviews, against 16.2% for Hubstaff).
Fewer reports of Hubstaff's complaints: crashes and login errors: 4.5% of its reviews against 16.2% for Hubstaff.
Trade-offs: It is priced at Rs 75 per user (Business) + Rs 100 per user for live location = about $1.84 (about $1.84 per user per month for 30 users). Its own reviewers mostly report renewal price hikes and "not free" and app not opening after updates. See its alternatives.
Unolo
Why we think it is a good alternative: closest to Hubstaff in features (4 of 5) and store rating (4.0 against 3.8), with far fewer reports of crashes and login errors (3.6% of its reviews, against 16.2% for Hubstaff) and support complaints (none of its reviews, against 2.5% for Hubstaff).
Fewer reports of Hubstaff's complaints: crashes and login errors: 3.6% of its reviews against 16.2% for Hubstaff; support complaints: none of its reviews against 2.5% for Hubstaff. Its review sample is small, so treat this with caution.
Trade-offs: It lacks: payroll. It does not publish a price. Its own reviewers mostly report battery drain and crashes and permission loops. See its alternatives.
How TrackFolks addresses these problems
TrackFolks has no store ratings yet, so these are the creator's claims, not review data.
Crashes and login errors
No crashes reported by the roughly 50 people who have used it so far.
Price and renewal complaints
The price is published upfront and capped at $499 a year ($249 in the first year).
Support complaints
The creator gives personal support, and most teams need it only while onboarding.
Where TrackFolks does better
- Price: for a 30-user team TrackFolks costs about $0.69 per user per month in the first year and $0.70 after renewal, against about $10.00 for Hubstaff.
- Against Truein at about $2.41 per user per month, TrackFolks is cheaper at about $0.70 after the first year.
- Against SalaryBox at about $1.84 per user per month, TrackFolks is cheaper at about $0.70 after the first year.
- Free start: TrackFolks is free for up to 10 users with every feature, while Hubstaff offers 14-day trial.
- Mobile first: managers do everything from the phone, including exporting CSV reports, with no web dashboard to learn.
- Features Hubstaff does not list that TrackFolks has: selfie / face check at punch-in, expense claims.
Hubstaff and TrackFolks side by side
| Feature | Hubstaff | TrackFolks |
|---|---|---|
| Selfie / face check at punch-in | Not stated | Selfie punch-in |
| Live location | Locations add-on | Yes |
| Route history and distance | Route history, Locations add-on | Route replay, daily distance |
| Geofencing | Job sites, Locations add-on | Coming soon |
| Customer visit logging | Job site attendance with notes and photos | Check-in form |
| Expense claims | Not stated | Receipts |
| Leave / roster | Not stated | Not available |
| Payroll | Integrated payroll (reported) | CSV export for payroll |
| Works offline | Not stated | Location gathered offline; punch-in needs a connection |
| Biometric / QR attendance | Not stated | Not available |
| Free plan | 14-day trial | Up to 10 users |
Green = included, amber = partial or higher plan, red = not available, grey = not stated in public material. See the full comparison of the top 11 apps.
When Hubstaff is the better choice
You need desktop time tracking, screenshots, project and task time, or payroll alongside GPS job sites. TrackFolks is a mobile app with no desktop tracking or project time.
Pricing compared
Hubstaff: $10 per user per month (Team plan, annual); the Locations add-on needed for GPS is extra and its price was not found. For a 30-user team that is about $10.00 per user per month. TrackFolks: free for 10 users, then $1.05 per user per month, billed yearly capped at $499 a year, about $0.69 per user per month in year 1 and $0.70 after renewal for 30 users.
Yearly price in USD with GPS location tracking included, from each vendor's public pricing in October 2026 (rupees at ₹95 = $1). The vertical axis is logarithmic, so each step up is a multiple of the one below, which lets every provider fit; $0 is drawn at the bottom. We could not find a public price for PagarBook and Unolo, so they are not on the chart.
View the numbers as a table
| Users | TrackFolks | TrackFolks, first year | Connecteam | SalaryBox | Truein | FieldSense, first year* | FieldSense, after renewal* | QuickBooks Time | Clockify | Jibble✱ | Hubstaff✱ | Timeero |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $221 | $774 | $105 | $316 | $1,440 | $959 | $959 | $1,200 | $600 |
| 20 | $126 | $126 | $348 | $442 | $821 | $211 | $632 | $2,640 | $1,918 | $1,918 | $2,400 | $1,200 |
| 30 | $252 | $249 | $348 | $663 | $868 | $316 | $947 | $3,840 | $2,876 | $2,876 | $3,600 | $1,800 |
| 50 | $499 | $249 | $540 | $1,105 | $963 | $526 | $1,579 | $6,240 | $4,794 | $4,794 | $6,000 | $3,000 |
| 100 | $499 | $249 | $1,020 | $2,211 | $1,200 | $1,053 | $3,158 | $12,240 | $9,588 | $9,588 | $12,000 | $6,000 |
* FieldSense: per-user price worked out from what a FieldSense customer told us: Rs 25,000 for 25 users in the first year, rising to Rs 75,000 after renewal; the price at other team sizes assumes the same per-user rate. ✱ Jibble: the vendor's pages did not list a full price table, so the figure is from third-party sources that disagree. ✱ Hubstaff: the Team plan at $10 per user, without the Locations add-on that GPS tracking needs, whose price we could not find. QuickBooks Time is the Premium plan ($20 a month base fee + $10 per user). Clockify is the Pro plan. SalaryBox is Rs 75 per user plus Rs 100 for live location. Truein is the Time Capture plan (Rs 250 per user per year + a Rs 69,000 a year base fee) plus the Rs 200 per user live tracking add-on. Timeero is the Basic plan.
Download TrackFolks
Want to see how all the most-used apps compare? Read Comparing the Top 11 Field Force Tracking Apps and Alternatives to the Top 11 Attendance and Field Force Tracking Apps.
This guide is AI-generated and published by TrackFolks, which is one of the apps covered. If you find an error, write to developer@shristigroup.com and we will correct it. If you want your offering included and you list your pricing openly, write to us and we will add it.